I know it’s not Christmas – but I just couldn’t help myself

I know it's not Christmas - but I just couldn't help myself

 

Some traditional Alsatian cinnamon biscuits which are yummy :-)

Here’s the recipe!
3 egg whites
250g / 9 oz. / 2 cups icing sugar
1 tsp grounded cinnamon
400g / 14 oz / 4 cups ground hazelnuts or almonds
 
Line the baking sheet with baking parchment. Preheat the oven to 140°C / 275°F / Gas 1 (OR if you have a fan oven 120°C / 230°F / Gas 1/2)
To make the dough, whisk the eggs whites using a hand mixer until the form stiff peaks. Sift the icing sugar and whisk in briefly. Remove 2 big tablespoons of the stiffly beaten egg whites and put to one side for the icing.
Carefully whisk the cinnamon and about 150g/5oz/1 and a half cups of the almonds or hazelnuts into the rest of the stiffly beaten egg whites. Using your hands, knead in enough of the remaining almonds or hazelnuts so that the dough is hardly sticky any more.
Roll out the dough on a work surface to a thickness of about 5mm or three sixteenths of an inch and cut out the stars (or in my case, Christmas trees) (tip/ i’s easier to cut out the stars if yu dip the cutter in water every time you cut one out) and cover them carefully with the egg whites you have put aside. The texture of the egg whites must me such that it can be spread on the stars ; add a few drops of water if necessary.
Put the baking sheet on the lowest shelf in the preheated oven. Bake for about 25mins. 
Slide the baked stars together with the baking parchment off the baking sheet onto a cake cooling rack. The biscuits should still be a bit soft soft underneath when you take them out of the oven. 
5 thoughts on “I know it’s not Christmas – but I just couldn’t help myself

  1. I know it’s just a picture, but I can’t help try to swallow my screen. Yumzies!

    Thankyou for not only visiting my blog, but being generous enough to star an article.
    If you liked what you saw, do stay tuned. You won’t regret it :D

    • Hey there :) why thank you very much, I feel so flattered. Not only will I follow your blog but as a bonus I’m sending you a free virtual cupcake right now! (but please watch out and lean away from your computer screen. It’s the first time I’m sending a virtual food item but I hear that they tend to be delivered rather roughly and jump out at you from your screen. So duck, now)

Leave a Reply

